The Governing Body

The Governing body consists of:

  • Two parent governors
  • One governor appointed by the local authority
  • One staff governor
  • Six foundation governors
  • One governor appointed by the Manchester diocese
  • One head teacher

A Chair and Deputy Chair are elected annually from this group of governors. Governors are responsible for:

  • ensuring that the school is running well;
  • ensuring that the school's budget is spent efficiently;
  • appointing the people that work in the school;
  • ensuring that the National Curriculum is being taught;
  • helping to draft school policies;
  • monitoring standards and setting targets.

The governing body meets regularly each term. Governors' sub-committees for resource management (finance, staffing, premises) and curriculum also meet each term.

List of Governors at St. Andrew's C.E. Primary School

First Name



 Voting   Powers



Debbie Anderson Foundation Yes 31/08/2017


Kate Bradbury Parent Yes 01/04/2019 01/04/2023



Parent Yes 21/09/2015 21/09/2019
Louise Cliff Staff Yes 21/02/2019 21/02/2023
Donna Cunningham Foundation Yes 01/09/2018 01/09/2022
Joan Hassall HT Yes N/A N/A
Melissa Heggie Foundation Yes 21/11/2016 21/11/2020
Joanna Jarrett Foundation Yes 13/10/2016 13/10/2020
Margaret McDonald Diocesan Yes 01/09/2018 01/09/2022
George Reeves Foundation Yes N/A


Brian Selby Foundation Yes 31/08/2016


Adele Steele Associate No 31/08/2018


There are also two sub-committees of the governing body, as follows:

1. The Resource Management Committee

Margaret McDonald, Brian Selby, Joan Hassall,  Melissa Heggie, Louise Cliff, George Reeves.

 2. The Curriculum Committee

Louise Cliff, Joanna Jarrett, Debbie Anderson, Joan Hassall, Rashenda Chapman, Donna Cunningham, Adele Steele.

Record of attendance at Governors' meetings 2016/17

Governors' Pen Portraits